Virtuelle Hochschule Bayern


“… study anytime, anywhere”

Main menu

Information about the BVU

The Bavarian Virtual University (BVU) – a network

The Bavarian Virtual University (BVU) is not an independent institution of higher education but a network of universities and universities of applied sciences in the Free State of Bavaria.

The networked character of the BVU ensures that the professional, technical and didactical potential of the Bavarian universities reaches a broader pool of students, irrespective of their place of study or residence. However, not only students benefit from this network. The BVU also encourages an active exchange and close collaboration between the academic staff of the various universities as well as between different types of institutions of higher education.

The BVU network consists of the nine state universities, the 17 universities of applied sciences and the Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt, the Hochschule für Philosophie München, the Katholische Stiftungshochschule München, the Universität der Bundeswehr München (University of the Armed Forces Munich) and the Evangelische Hochschule Nürnberg. They comprise the BVU member universities.